Skip to content

Bare Your Soul!

I love when people get a chance to tell their story!  I admire the courage it takes to bear the soul- especially when it comes to acne and personal habits we swear we will never divulge to ANYONE!  As teens, we are expected to just ”deal with the troubles of acne”.  What happens when we are adults?  Dealing with acne and the horrible scars it leaves is frustrating, often leaving one in tears- humiliated every time the reflection in the mirror is our enemy.  I created Banished Primal Blemish Serum because I know how hard it is to cope with the struggles of acne.  I suffered from very frequent breakouts as a teen, and continued to get breakouts as an adult.  Banished is my Skin-Food savior when a rare breakout occurs now- and most of the time, it is gone by morning.

I want to personally thank Sunny for her recent letter in which she tells her heartfelt story of a long struggle with cystic acne, scars and a habit up until recently, she kept to herself.  THANK YOU Sunny for giving Primal Life Organics Skin-Food a chance!  I know first hand how much money is spent searching for the promised “miracle cure”!  I know it is not easy to give a new product or a new company a try.  THANK YOU for letting me into your life- I am so proud of what you have to say!!

 From Sunny:

I remember that I started getting acne when I was in fourth grade. In fifth grade I developed a picking habit and in sixth grade, my mom whisked me off to a dermatologist because she wanted to keep me from developing scars. He put me on antibiotics and topical medicines and gave me some soaps to wash with. They helped, kind of.

Throughout middle school, my picking habit worsened. I spent hours in front of the mirror because I didn’t know how to stop myself. I procrastinated on going back to my dermatologist because I was worse than before and I felt like I’d let him down. I bought the strongest OTC benzyl peroxide wash and cream to bleach the red. One girl asked me once if I got highlights in my hair. Nope, just my face wash.

In high school my mom whisked me off to get facials since I refused to go back to the doctor (I was afraid he’d put my on birth control or Accutane, two things I wanted to avoid). Every time my skin got “clear” I’d tell myself that THIS time, I wouldn’t pick it. And then some cysts would show up and it was downhill from there. Finally, my mom told me she wasn’t paying for my facials anymore because they “weren’t doing any good”. I think she suspected my picking habit. I got good at concealing my red acne with green face powder.

In college, I didn’t “grow out of it”, as promised. I was tired of using my hands or hair (or, if I was eating, food) to hide red spots when someone took a photo. I was tired of just thinking about my skin all the time. I finally broke down and went back to the dermatologist and vowed that THIS time, things would be different … .

In January 2012, at 23 years old, I committed to clearing my skin naturally. I spent days on the internet researching inflammatory foods and landed on Mark’s Daily Apple, and in March 2012 I went Paleo. Life was good. My skin cleared up. Two months ago I got arrogant and decided that I could stop all my medicines and stop putting awful ingredients on my skin. Oops! Stopping my skin care routine cold turkey caused a downhill spiral that left me miserable and cringing at any glance of myself in the mirror. In frustration I turned to the internet once more, determined: “Surely SOMEONE out there has Paleoized skin care!”

Lo and behold, Primal Life Organics had. I immediately ordered the Bare Primal Face Package (wasn’t ready to spring for the more expensive stuff in case, you know, putting oil on my oily skin didn’t work). How amazing! I weaned myself off my prescription topical meds. I weaned myself off my concealer. Recently, my sister stared at me for a moment and asked, “Are you wearing your makeup?” And I proudly told her that no, I was not! It was just that my skin texture has improved so much, my pores have closed so much, my wrinkles (well, laugh-lines – I’m a happy person) have faded, my skin is not seeping oil and even the red has begun to heal. I bought the Banished Primal Serum to spot treat my cystic acne and just the other night, I couldn’t find anything to put it on! I was almost sad to discover I had no spots that needed treating – but not too sad.


The best part of all is that I haven’t regressed into picking. I have nothing to pick! My face is still red and healing, but it’s smooth. And THIS time, I know I will actually be able to stay the course. If a cyst shows up I can kill it before I pick it and I can break the awful cycle. Primal Life Organics has been the skin care I needed to heal my skin. I can’t thank Trina enough for making these products just when I needed them most … except, of course, to keep supporting her wonderful business.

PS – as a bonus, since the products aren’t watered down in large containers, they pass TSA regulations for carry-on liquids! Big bonus for frequent flyers!

Sunny Cavan

In a follow up email, I wished that Sunny never gets a chance to try Banished- hoping, like her, the acne was gone for good!  Sunny’s reply was another testimonial to the power of Banished:

I did end up having to use Banished recently – and it’s incredible! I’ve never seen a cyst disappear so fast and with so little fuss. Even the ones that always show up in the same spots every month – gone before they start to show.

THANK YOU Sunny for taking the time to write your incredible story!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

